From this year onward two most prestigious prize in football are merged, and now the best player in the world will now also be recognized by a single award – FIFA Ballon d’Or.

Last year both of these awards were taken by Argentina/Barcelona MESSI.

This year most of the players in nomination consists of World and European Champions Spain.

Following is the full list of nominations:

Xabi Alonso (Spain)

Daniel Alves (Brazil)

Iker Casillas (Spain)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)

Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast)

Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon)

Cesc Fabregas (Spain)

Diego Forlan (Uruguay)

Asamoah Gyan (Ghana)

Andres Iniesta (Spain)

Julio Cesar (Brazil)

Miroslav Klose (Germany)
Philipp Lahm (Germany)

Maicon (Brazil)

Lionel Messi (Argentina)

Thomas Muller (Germany)

Mesut Ozil (Germany)

Carles Puyol (Spain)

Arjen Robben (Holland)
Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany)

Wesley Sneijder (Holland)

David Villa (Spain)

Xavi (Spain)